As my designs developed I shaped the wood, drilled it and burnt it.

burnt-steak

I experimented with writing, stamping and burning it into the wood, always being aware of how I would achieve this effect in wax.

I spoke with Roddy at the general workshop about a wax pour and he was good enough to let me do it the same day.

wax-pour

The wax is super sticky and difficult to work with. While sawing it in to the steak shape, it seems to self-heal! I think the heat generated by the blade and the stickiness of the wax make a perfect storm.

Leave a Reply

