the last few months have gone by so fast I can hardly believe it. We got our final brief  ‘who do you think you are’ at the start of March. I was super excited by it, finally a chance to do my own thing.

I wanted to continue my use of biodegradable materials and started experimenting with flour again, the outcome was not good!

no matter what I do, there is no elegance to the shapes I make.

Researching other materials that are:

  1. natural
  2. biodegradable
  3. recyclable
  4. have an aesthetic value

I started experimenting with sugar and salt crystals, growing them in a saturated solution.

Also attempting to use spun sugar to create shapes, with some success.

The main problems are:

  1. time consuming to grow the crystals
  2. very brittle once formed
  3. becomes sticky with over handling

I decided that growing the crystals would yield better results and I would push on with this, (I will revisit this in a different blog with picture) after growing a lot of crystals on different materials I very quickly came to the conclusion that the best way to make them wearable was to design and make the piece first then cover it in sugar….

 

Leave a Reply

